5.0 out of 5 stars                 *Unlimited* Personal Liability!!

By Marc G. Belisleon               February 17, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Excellent, excellent, excellent! Recommended by an estate lawyer – especially the entire chapter on why you should *not* be a Special Needs Trust trustee – truly a minefield, *extremely* easy to make mistakes, and unlimited personal liability (there is no such thing as a bond for “errors and omissions for a Special Needs Trust trustee). This book is the very best advice I got from my surprisingly poor lawyer. So the Special Needs Trust which I was going to administer I am now happily handing off to a professional fiduciary/trustee.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars A must have resource

By M Fulleron            May 13, 2012

Format: Paperback

As a special needs planning attorney and director of a non-profit that administers special needs trusts this book is an essential resource for me, my staff, and clients. While written for California trustees of special needs trusts, these trusts in particular are written to conform to federal statutes and policy. Each state may have its own culture, but it is extremely helpful and in fact, very little is only applicable to California. I recommend this exhaustive guide to colleagues and clients as it is very well written without getting mired down in legalese.

Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Resource

By DJHaughton         January 31, 2012

Format: Paperback

As a corporate trustee, my sole focus is administering First Party Special Needs Trusts. Our group serves the needs of many beneficiaries in the state of California and we find this book to be an invaluable resource! In addition, it is ideal for training and very effective as an educational tool as well. Its effectiveness can be credited to how it is formatted; the format makes it incredibly easy to find the specific area you are looking to research or learn about.

Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?

 

5.0 out of 5 stars “Must Read” if you are involved with a Special Needs Trust

By Deborah N.          July 17, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

This book is not an easy read for a layman, but it is essential to understand what my lawyers and the trustee must do for the person with the Special Needs. I’m finding it very informative. It was recommended as the “go to” source, by someone in the know. Highly recommend.

Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Explains the use of the trusts and the role of the trustee.

By B. Wolinsky           January 21, 2015

Format: Paperback

Simple explanations for the use of special needs trusts are laid out here in simple language. The author makes clear that this is not a book of legal advice, but an introduction to the role of the SNT and the roles of the trustee and beneficiary. If you are the parent of an adult with special needs, or the adult son or daughter of elderly parent, the SNT is set up for their financial and/or physical care and you would be the “trustmaker” or “grantor.” The money can then be used for anything the beneficiary needs; food, health care, clothing, furniture, travel expenses, etc.

When it comes to using the money, there is wide leeway on what it can be spent on. However the trustee has fiduciary responsibility for the money, and he/she can get in trouble if the money is misspent or mismanaged. But mistakes can be made, especially when SSI payments are in question. The special needs beneficiary can have SSI payments reduced or Section 8 rent increased if the beneficiary has income. Caregiver expenses may be deductible, but in some cases they are not.

This book isn’t a legal guide, but it’s great if you are going to be the trustee of a SNT and want an overview of what you can expect. In an age when people are living longer than they did 30 years ago, the issue is more important than ever.

Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide for CA SNT Trustees

By MNMon                August 14, 2014

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

This is a great guide to give clients who are thinking of setting up a Special Needs Trust as well as for those who are undertaking to act as trustees of such trust. In my experience as an Estate Planning Attorney for over 26 years, people are often unprepared for what they need to know to act as trustee of these trusts. It is wonderful to have a resource to give them, at least for California SNTs.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars everything in my miserable life changed for the better, as Knowledge trumps idiots beliefs until Knowledge is …

By Davidon March 27, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

This book saved me, with my Trust, a Special needs Trust, from undue cruelty from un-informed $400 / hour attorney’s directives to the Trustee and Fiduciary on how to administer.

Within 1 month after the Fiduciary heard from me about the “book”, and the Trustee and Fiduciary acquired the BOOK, everything in my miserable life changed for the better, as Knowledge trumps idiots beliefs until Knowledge is found. Many fools have fools for an attorney, I was not able to select the attorney, nor the trustee, but I did “hire” the Fiduciary as the Trustee, when the Trustee decided to quit, post BOOK.

Buy the book and then interview the legal people and see if they have a clue. It is your “loved” ones lives at stake.

I ordered the Book Sometime in January 2012, A best move on my part.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars well done

By SS in the Blue Ridgeon       July 18, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

If you need to know this specialized thing, this book is excellent. you do still need an attorney and accountant, but at least you have some chance of understanding and reviewing what these experts are telling you. It only applies to California and the Affordable Care Act has changed some stuff already (this is from 2011).

 

4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative

By David J. Welchon                March 11, 2013

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

I had been asking an attorney for guidance, but wasn’t getting anywhere, so I found this book and it has answered most of my questions. Very well written and a good investment for future reference.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for family members acting as trustees!

By G. A. Arceon        July 31, 2013

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Bought this book, no because it has legal advise that you can rely on but, it was helpful in understanding the whole special needs trust thing. Comes to find out, in California, probate courts have different rules. What may be acceptable like in Los Angeles, may not be acceptable in San Francisco.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Very Helpful

By Amazon Customer              on May 26, 2014

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

This book has helped me to understand this very complex Trust. It’s helped with identifying which type it is and how to best manage it. I will refer to it often as I continue to do the administration.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars If I knew then…

By R Geiseon             September 10, 2013

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

When I agreed to be the trustee for an SNT, I had no idea as to what would be required of me. This book clearly spells out the legal duties of being a trustee as well as describing the rules of the public benefits programs that must be understood and followed by the trustee. I only wish I’d read this book before the SNT was funded.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide for California Special Needs Trusts

By Amazon Customeron December 29, 2012

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

This book is written in easy to understand terminology for everyday people. The format is easy to follow and answered many questions that we had while setting up a snt for a family member. It allowed us to talk knowledgeably with the lawyer and ask the questions that we needed to as the trust document was being drafted.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Must own if administer Calif. trust

By Lisa Ryavecon        November 14, 2013

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Hate having to read this–I administer a trust. But so glad to have it because I need it. And this book has the answers or tells you where to find them in very straight forward, non-legal language.

 

4.0 out of 5 stars Informative

By Lorraine Jones     on August 11, 2012

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

I needed this information to handle a Trust and it has been very helpful. I will be able to use the book as a resource when and as needed.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars But, hire a lawyer

By Amazon Customer on May 25, 2014

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

This is a very clear book, very useful, but you should never try to do any of this stuff on your own. Never!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for those who are struggling.

By Roberton         April 6, 2014

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Yes it is very good and is specific to California. Accurate and easy to understand. Examples are sometimes exactly my situation.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars

By Angela on March 24, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Very informative for anyone who needs answers about Special Needs Trusts. One of my go-to books.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars

By Cate Larsen on October 22, 2014

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Yah, this is THE book you want. No doubt about it. Just go buy it. (I’ve read them all…)

 

5.0 out of 5 stars                 Covers the subject

By Shadowatcher on April 26, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Really covers the subject and now I know more that I ever wanted to know.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars                 Easy to understand. Invaluable.

By cjgma on December 21, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

A must have if you are administering a SNT. Very easy to understand.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended seller!

By Amazon Customer on January 22, 2016

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Well written, informative book. Fast shipping. Recommended seller!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars concise and easy guide to a potentially complicated matter

By Laurellthon August 31, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Clear, concise and easy guide to a potentially complicated matter.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars A must if you have a trust

By mysteryal on October 23, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Very well written in detail. Wish we had gotten it years before.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars

By Danna Bell on October 26, 2014

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Highly recommend this book. Came quickly too.