In Special Needs News

Social security disability benefits claim form and pen.The Social Security Administration (SSA)’s Compassionate Allowances (CAL) program identifies rare medical conditions that meet its disability benefits standards — and help persons suffering from these serious ailments to receive disability benefits more swiftly. These conditions primarily include certain cancers, adult brain disorders, and some rare disorders that affect children. The CAL program allows these individuals to access benefits quickly to help them deal with their medical conditions.

In August 2022, the Acting Commissioner of Social Security announced 12 additional conditions that now qualify for Compassionate Allowances consideration:

  1. Angioimmunoblastic T-cell Lymphoma
  2. Blastic Plasmacytoid Dendritic Cell Neoplasm
  3. Gerstmann-Straussler-Scheinker Disease
  4. Microvillus Inclusion Disease – Child
  5. Mowat-Wilson Syndrome
  6. Myelodysplastic Syndrome with Excess Blasts
  7. NUT Carcinoma
  8. Pfeiffer Syndrome – Types II and III
  9. Pontocerebellar Hypoplasia
  10. Posterior Cortical Atrophy
  11. Renal Amyloidosis – AL Type
  12. Sarcomatoid Mesothelioma

Because many of these conditions are so severe, disability claims can be approved solely based on medical confirmation of the diagnosis. As of the present time, 266 conditions qualify for the CAL program. You can find the complete list on the SSA’s website. The SSA is also actively soliciting names of other diseases it should consider for the CAL program.

A special needs planner may be able to assist you in understanding whether you qualify for the CAL program. For more information, contact a planner in your area.

Start typing and press Enter to search